Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Launch – Postcapitalist Desire: The Final Lectures of Mark Fisher with Matt Colquhoun and James Butler [online event]

Thursday January 14, 2021 @ 7:00 pm 8:30 pm

Join Matt Colquhoun and James Butler as they examine the crucial legacy of Mark Fisher, to celebrate the publication of Postcapitalist Desire: The Final Lectures of Mark Fisher, edited by Colquhoun. When we lost Mark Fisher in 2017, we lost one of our most exciting and vital critics of contemporary politics and culture. Providing lucid and excoriating critiques on subjects ranging from Dido to Drake; The Fall to James Blake; Breaking Bad to Benefits Street, he was moved by the emancipatory possibilities of popular culture. In publishing, he worked to spread radical ideas and provide a generation of new writers with a platform. Blogging as ‘k-punk’, he analysed everyday experiences of precarity, depression, and cultural malaise as profoundly political — and therefore changeable. Mark tirelessly sought alternatives to the world that we’ve been given, away from the destructive individualism of the present and towards a practical communitarian future. For the first time, Postcapitalist Desire reveals Mark Fisher in his element — the classroom — outlining a project that Fisher’s death left so bittersweetly unfinished. Beginning with that most fundamental of questions — “Do we really want what we say we want?” — Fisher explores the relationship between desire and capitalism, and wonders what new forms of desire we might still excavate from the past, present, and future. From the emergence and failure of the counterculture in the 1970s to the continued development of his left-accelerationist line of thinking, this volume charts a tragically interrupted course for thinking about the raising of a new kind of consciousness, and the cultural and political implications of doing so. For Fisher, this process of consciousness raising was always, fundamentally, psychedelic — just not in the way that we might think… Speakers Matt Colquhoun is a writer and photographer from Hull, East Yorkshire. He is the author of Egress: On Mourning, Melancholy and Mark Fisher and blogs at xenogothic.com. James Butler is the co-founded Novara Media and presents Novara FM on Resonance 104.4, as well as being a contributor to the LRB and others. Please read: If you purchase a “book plus entry ticket”, please email shop@housmans.com with a UK address. Postcapitalist Desire is published on 12 Jan 2021. An invitation to this online event will be emailed to you on the day of the event. We will use the email address used to purchase the ticket. Please check your spam folder and if you have not received the invitation by 5pm, email us and we will resend it. 


Thursday January 14, 2021
7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
£1.00 – £12.99
Event Categories:


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Who's coming?

243 people are attending Book Launch – Postcapitalist Desire: The Final Lectures of Mark Fisher with Matt Colquhoun and James Butler [online event]

James Dunbar Thom White Mr S Hadley jade spencer Toby Lloyd Dom England Nathan Finlayson Laurence Kent Ben Murphy Susan postlethwaite Nicholas Stock Simon O'sullivan Hank Smith Jon Buckland David Moran Fiorella Lecoutteux Andrew Correia James Braithwaite Callum Robertson Ross Jesmont Paul Railton Rachel Baker Garry Loughlin Maria Perevedentseva Deirdre Noonan Padrig Jones Rachel Fleminger Hudson Simpson Tse Kathleen Ireland Tara McEvoy Ciara Patten Olga Pedan Joseph Griffiths Nick Spooner Clare French Anila Gill Serena Annibali jasmine lister L Coltman. Serena Ruth Ben Hopkinson Antonio Voce Lukas-Alexander Kostyra Dictionary Pudding Ben Graham lauren wright Liam Renouf Jack Sims claire Gittins Georgina Jarvis Sonali Bhagchandani Ernesto Light-Lopez jake roberts Rana Hamadeh Rana Hamadeh Alorah Harman Polina Levontin Tobias Ryan Clive Judd Stuart Astbury James Weidner James Sibley Handmade by Tilly HElen Bartlett Aryan Mishra Timothy Coomb tom patel Antony Bell Oliver Jacob Jackson Bateman Niall Gallen Ross MacFarlane Ms Amanda Kernick Benjamin Dusserre-Robinson Michael Crick Astrid Corry Tetjana Kijaniza Kirsten Lightbody David Miller Oliver Warren Ian Macpherson Colin Mackay Kathryn Busby Michael McGrath-Brookes Dehany AJ Theo Gregory Trey Taylor Christopher Griffin Devang Vaidya Ed Haslam Ben Dornan Sam Johnson Jemma Briggeman Joe Gorecki Maximilian Curtis Joshua Turner miss leola wade William Clark Georgina Pallett Daniel McGrath Ed Wall tom wildblood Scott Anderson Rachel Feury harry harrrison Barbara Plotz agata hosnova Matthew Pang Rhydian Hughes Patrick Millsap michael clague Ellen Reid Asli Anik Matthew Liston-Jones Ross hammond Max Wilkinson Rachel Bennett Kaitlyn Shirley Polona Kasal summer m Bianca Stoppani Tymek woodham Ben Prideaux Jessica Addison Pippa Marriott Daniel Hannen Dean Pomeroy kitty mckay Davide Saraceno Alex Bagenal geraldine butterworth Theo Rollason Flora Bagenal kevin davey Luke Overin Paris Selinas William Cashmore Andrew Telfer Paulina Durinova Jonjo Brady corey miller Anna Lart-Greene Adam Lambert John McTernan Alex Kendrick AJ Keller Thomas Holder Aris Komporozos-Athanasiou Mau Baiocco Oriel Wells sebastian czernuszyn Philip Jones Tilly Sleven Nicholas Thoburn Ben Beebe Jade Burnett Izdehar Afyouni Dr Christopher Haworth Jonathan Atkinson Sarah Bird Lucy Crimmens Laurie McNamee Luke Jeffery Andrew Preater XINYI KANG Cody Carlson Morgan Evetts Glyn Everett Chris Roberts elise boudjema Hugo Voss Wakae Nakane cat gotz Tais Abrahamsson Lewis Jamieson Iwan Mason Fernando Gomez Herrero Honor Jeavons Oliver Palmer Vanessa Giorgo Gergana Staneva Yoshiko Teraoka Sophie Peterson Ben Assiter Dan Melling Chloe Chignell Jason Ioannou ALISTAIR FRANCIS Saoirse Callanan Lisa Cradduck Craig Wye James Elsey hannah ander David Ayats Ros Alexis Harris Stephen Delaney Emma Smith Ellie Saxby hana kopecka Philip Houston Charles MacDonald Fred Sanders Dan Thorman Daniel Dickins Humphrey Jordan Nathalie Perl Reece Lyne Oliver Turbitt Jamil Sbitan Eoin Fullam Cristina Espejo Jan Vanlommel sam riley Elizabeth George Aaron Skates hilary wainwright Verity-Jane Keefe David Green Tomas Vieira-Short Thomas Hutchinson Alexis Brown T Cardew Sophie Bowley-Aicken James Treagus Andrej Bako Damian Jones Anna Krel nathalie wuerth Karen Sztajnberg Holly John Matt Hare Ronan McSorley DANIEL SHINBAUM Tomas Timonen Lewis Bloodworth JOHN COBB

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.